Site Image

History of Student CrimeStoppers Honolulu

Officer Larry WIEDA started the first Student CrimeStoppers program at Fairview High School in Boulder Colorado in 1983.  Since then, Officer WIEDA has replied to thousands of requests for information from schools all over the U.S., Guam, Canada and England.

The Board of Directors of Crime Stoppers Honolulu, Inc. approved a pilot program for Student CrimeStoppers in March, 1997.  It was tailored to the needs of the communities on O'ahu and designed to aid law enforcement in reducing crime on school campuses and in the nearby community. The first five schools were Aiea, Farrington, Leilehua and McKinley High Schools, and Dole Middle School.

The program was expanded in February, 1999 as part of an agreement between Crime Stoppers Honolulu, Inc., the Hawai'i State Board of Education and the Honolulu Police Department to make the Student CrimeStoppers available to every public and private middle and high school on O'ahu.  Ten thousand posters were distributed to the schools to help explain the program.

CrimeStoppers Honolulu, Inc.’s collaboration with the Department of Education along with the Department’s endorsement and encouragement of the "Gun and Ice Pledge" has proven to be a successful partnership. Of those schools that participated in 2005 in the "Gun and Ice Pledge", 13 had 100% participation. A total of 33,000 students from across the islands pledged to never bring a gun to school, never use a gun to solve their problems, and never to use "ice".

Today, there are more than 57 schools from which CrimeStoppers Honolulu routinely receives information about problems and potential crimes. 


About Student CrimeStoppers Program


Student CrimeStoppers would like to thank all participating Oahu schools for having us.


Participating Oahu Schools

Aiea High

Aiea Intermediate

Aliamanu Middle

Campbell High

Castle High

Central Middle

Dole Middle

Farrington High

Hanalani Schools

Highlands Middle

Ilima Middle

Jarrett Middle

Kahuku Elementary

Kahuku High/Middle

Kailua High

Kailua Middle

Kaimuki High

Kaimuki Middle

Kaiser High

Kalaheo High

Kalakaua Middle

Kalani High


Kapolei Middle

Kapolei High

Kawananakoa Middle

King Intermediate

Laie Elementary

Lanakila Baptisit

Leilehua High

McKinley High

Mililani High

Mililani Middle

Mililani Mauka Elementary

Mililani Uka Elementary

Mililani Waena Elementary

Moanalua Elementary

Moanalua High

Moanalua Middle

Nanakuli High/Middle

Niu Valley Middle


Pearl City High

Radford High

Roosevelt High

St. Louis High

St. Patrick School

Stevenson Middle

Wahiawa Middle

Waialua High/Middle

Waianae Middle

Waianae High

Waimalu Elementary/Middle

Waimanalo Elementary/Middle

Waipahu High

Waipahu Middle

Washington Middle

Wheeler Middle